• OddsDigger
  • Blog
  • Brian Hughes (jockey)

Brian Hughes (jockey)

Brian Hughes (born 27 June 1985) is an Irish jockey who competes in National Hunt racing. Hughes won the British jump racing Champion Jockey title for the 2019–20 season with 141 winners. Hughes comes from County Armagh but is based in Northern England and became the first champion jockey based in the North since Jonjo O'Neill won the title in 1980.

Cheltenham Festival winners

  • Centenary Novices' Handicap Chase - Ballyalton (2016), Mister Whitaker (2018)
  • Fred Winter Juvenile Novices' Handicap Hurdle - Hawk High (2014)

Major wins

Great Britain

  • Ascot Chase - Waiting Patiently (2018)
  • Top Novices' Hurdle - Cyrus Darius (2015)
Chiaffredo Pirozzi